2 Week Juice Fast

Standard

So, the husband heard about a little movie called Fat Sick and Nearly Dead, and decided he wants to do a 2 week juice fast.  Being the supportive partner that I am, I sat down to watch the movie with him, and found it to be truly inspiring.  Joe Cross started out at 310 lbs, and he was taking multiple prescription medications.  During the filming of the movie, which followed him on his 60 day juice fast, he lost 80-85lbs!  Along the way he met a truck driver named Phil Staples.  I remember reading an article about the truck driver that juiced his way to health a couple of years ago. Phil enlisted Joe’s help, and was able to drop from 429 lbs to 225 lbs.  Amazing!  Just by juicing.

Watching the movie got me thinking… I like juice (we already have a juicer, but only use it every once in awhile), I could stand to lose a couple pounds, I’m vegan… but not the healthy kind, and everything is better if you do it together.  So I decided to join my husband on his 2 week juice fast.  I don’t know why they call it a fast, since anyone who as ever juiced a pile of yummy fresh veggies knows that it is very filling, but I am ready to see where this takes me.

JuiceDAY 1

We started this morning by taking weights & measurements, and with a 16 oz glass of Mean Green. This is actually very close to my go to “throw it all in the blender” juice.  The only difference being, I usually throw in a couple of carrots & I’ve never used ginger. I love using ginger, because it adds a bit of a spicy kick & has many health benefits.

Mid-Day I decided to take it easy & let someone else do all the work.  I stopped by a local juice place called Apfel, and had the Green Diet ($5.75 for cucumber, parsley, spinach, celery, apple, kale & ginger.)  So Delish!

Dinnertime consists of another Mean Green.  Still yummy… what will tomorrow bring?

DAY 2

Off to a great start!  I lost 2.8 lbs in the first day.  I’m finding that my life seems to revolve around food.  I am always thinking of the next meal & now my schedule seems thrown off because I am not needing to sit down for meals.  I should have all of this extra time, but right now I am not sure what to do with it.

For Day 2, I had to be out (but in a place with a fridge), so I made three servings of juice in the morning.  It worked out well.  I did find myself getting hungry before it was time to have the next juice… but maybe I’m not drinking enough?  Currently I am having 4 16 oz glasses of juice per day (at least that is the plan, I only had three on the first day.) I’m going to do some research & see if I can gain a little more insight into what the right balance is. I tried logging the Mean Green on MyFitnessPal, but there are multiple entries for it & the calories are all over the place, so I need to calculate it myself to get the correct numbers.

We did the Mean Green for the first 3 today & paid a visit to Robeks in the evening where I got a Crazy Carrot & the husband got an Evergreen. ($6.99 for a medium, which I think is 20 oz.)

DAY 3

I lost another 1.5 lbs.  Progress!  Today started with an Apple/Beet/Carrot Juice, which I thought was really yummy, but the husband said tasted “too beety.”

I went back to the Mean Green for the second juice of the day, but added some onions and brussel sprouts (because I have them).  Later on I tried this recipe for Pizza Juice!  It was pretty good (a little pulpy), the husband loved it. I’m going to try to fit in 5 juices (16 oz) throughout the day, to keep myself feeling satisfied.

DAY4

Another .8 lbs down today.   I don’t know how to buy enough veggies for this. It seems we are at the grocery store every day for one thing or another.  Mostly sticking to the Mean Green, because it’s easier to keep just those veggies (and apples) on hand. We went to the movies tonight, saw “Warm Bodies.”  Cute, I would recommend it.  We stopped at Robeks on the way there to get a large Evergreen, which I smuggled into the theater in my bag.  It’s a great way to stave off the habit of eating greasy movie theater popcorn.  I also discovered on this trip to Robeks that they have at least three flavors of vegan cookies… good to know!

DAY 5

Down another 1.4 lbs… yay!

DAY 6

Trying a new recipe today.  I got some pears and will be making the Celery, Cucumber, & Pear Green Juice. I’ve got to be away from the juicer again, so I’m batch juicing this morning.  We also bought some “Emergency Juices” at Whole Foods.  SO we can just grab & go.  We chose juices from Evolution & Columbia Gorge.

I actually got all 5 juices in today.  The girl I was working with asked, “where do you keep getting all of those green juices from? … lol.  Somehow, I ended up feeling hungrier than any other day, except maybe day 2.  I don’t know if it was the new recipe?  Maybe there is something in the Mean Green that makes me feel fuller: Apples, Lemon, Ginger?  At night, I grabbed the Evolution Essential Greens Juice because I didn’t feel like cleaning the juicer yet again.  It was good, but I like the fresh juices better. One thing that I have noticed through this entire week though is the energy I have.  I haven’t been lethargic, or started dragging in the afternoons at all.

DAY 7

I lost another .4 lbs, and my body fat % has gone from 29.8% to 27.0%. I decided to use the rest of my brussel sprouts AND garlic AND onion in the juice I made for me to enjoy throughout the day. BIG mistake.  It was the stinkiest, strongest, spiciest juice ever.  Don’t try this at home!  It actually filled me up though, either that or I was turned off to juice, because I didn’t feel at all hungry in the evening.

DAY 8

Down .8 more lbs!  I had to dash this morning so I grabbed the Evolution Sweet Greens from the fridge.  It was great!  So much tastier than the Essential Greens I tried on day 6.  On my way home I stopped at the grocery store to pick up peaches, sweet potatoes & golden delicious apples to make the Peach Pie Juice which is delicious! (I may just like the addition of cinnamon, but it was really yum!) At night, it was another trip to Apfel for the Green Diet.

DAY 9

Made some really great juice today, but whoever said that it gets easier after the 3rd day is a liar.  I am pretty good at “fake it until you make it,” but I’m ready for solid foods in 6 days (but who’s counting?)  I think if I decide to do this in the future it will be for 7 days at a time.  I am going to continue this until the end though, because that’s the deal I made with me.

DAY 10

Today I am going to try Blush Juice, because I’ve been wanting to put a grapefruit in something.  I expect it will be fresh & delicious.  We started the day with the Peach Pie (still yummy), and then I realized that I was out of a lot of produce, so I mad an Apple/Pear/Cucumber juice (2 Apples, 1 Pear, 1 Cucumber), which was pretty refreshing.  Time for (yet another) trip to the grocery store!  Beware… the Blush Juice is potent!  I did put in the max of 1 grapefruit that the recipe called for, but that was a lot & the husband said it made his tummy hurt (I actually kind of liked it, grapefruit has a super positive effect on me.)

DAY 11

Happy Valentines Day, and bye-bye .8 more lbs! Sticking to the “safe” Mean Green Juice this Morning.   I was going to wait until after the juice fast to get back on the exercise bandwagon, but I think I need a bump, so I may pull out Dance Central on the XBox 360 Kinect today.

DAY 12

My scale broke.  :(  I bought a new one, but it has a different reading.  I don’t know if this one is wrong or the other one, but I don’t think I gained 1.5 lbs for no reason.  When I put on my clothes this morning, I could actually tell a difference.  I look better!  So something is going right.  It’s so gorgeous out today!  I want to go to the beach, but I have to work. Oh well, next time.

DAY 13

Two amazingly fabulous days in a row… Gotta love SoCal!  I am ready to eat food again.  I am starting to plan out my meals for next week.  I’m also making a list of foods to eat more of, and foods to eat less of that I will hang in the kitchen.  I’m no dummy, I know what these foods are, but a visual reminder certainly helps give a little kick in the pants when I reach for a box of pasta with processed cheese-like substance & fatty garlic bread rather than whole grains w/ fresh veggies. This doesn’t mean that I am not going to make my famous BEST Gardein burger sometime this week.

DAY 14

The Final Day… Finally!!!  I think that I would do this again, but like I said before, only for one week.  I see some benefits.  I feel more energy, I look better in clothes, I think I can make better choices in food.  I still have some work to do, and that will start this week with healthy eating & exercise.  I heard recently that you should find something that you like to do and play, rather than exercise.  I like to dance & I like yoga. I don’t like to run,  but I love the ocean, so I will run on the beach.  I am looking forward to the next couple of months… then it’s summer!

There are a whole bunch of recipes on the Reboot With Joe Website.  I look forward to trying them all!  There is also a great resource for finding juice bars in or near your zip code.  Also, if you are wondering which produce MUST be purchased organic, check out this list.

I will keep this updated throughout the next two weeks, and let you know what happens!  To follow along with my daily weights & measurements, visit My Fitness Pal.

12 responses »

  1. Congrats on embarking on this awesome journey! I am currently on Day 40 of a juice fast and it has been an awesome experience so far.

    Looking forward to reading about your progress.
    Happy juicing!

  2. Ha! Your words were eerily similar to my own experience. I just watched the same documentary unintentionally as my husband had it on sitting next to me. I caught my self paying less and less attention to what I was doing and paying more attention to their journey. We both ended the film ready to juice and made an impulsive buy of our first juicer! I am glad to read a down to earth and honest account. We only plan to do it for one week…believe me, I know myself too well and know that I could not last much longer. Thanks for your post.

  3. Very good info. Lucky me I recently found your site by accident (stumbleupon). I have book-marked it for later!

  4. Pingback: The Juice Experiment: the impulsive decision | Life Improved

  5. Your style is unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this site.

  6. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written much better! Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will send this information to him. Pretty sure he will have a very good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  7. You’re so awesome! I do not think I’ve truly read something like this before. So great to find somebody with some unique thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is something that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  8. Hi there! This blog post could not be written any better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this information to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  9. This is a great post. I just started juicing this spring as well. I wrote a post recently about all of the juicing recipes that I’ve created that I love so much: https://theveganwannabe.wordpress.com/2013/06/16/getting-juicy/. The documentary was so inspiring, and your 2 week journey is motivating as well. We use it as a supplement and haven’t done a fast. I’d be nervous to do a fast, but I think it would feel great. Any tips on someone considering it?

  10. Heya i am for thee first time here. I found this board and I find It
    truly useful & it helped mee out a lot. I hope to give something
    back and aid others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply

